#ItwasMom

If there’s one person I don’t think I could ever live without, it’s my mom.

Image

 

… This is an old picture. Now your hair is long and mine is not. You’re still the best mom I could ever ask for. I’ve grown up now and I’m far away serving a mission, but I know that I couldn’t have gotten this far without you.

I’m your only daughter, and I know that I’ll always be your baby no matter how old I get or where I go in the world, and I’m so grateful for it all. You taught me how to clean the tub (something my roommates and companions will forever be grateful for, and probably my future husband, too), how to cook and bake, how to smile and laugh and not sweat the small things. You taught me how to be a gracious young lady even while being a tomboy, how to show love to others and serve them, too. You taught me that friends are the best when they’re well chosen – even if they don’t always stick around. You taught me to love flowers and nature and you let me love all the frogs and snakes and lizards I found. You let me run around with my brothers and go exploring in the campgrounds. You let me jump off cliffs into the freezing cold lakes.

You let me be myself, Mom, even when I wasn’t really sure who that was. Now I know. I know what kind of mother I want to be some day. I know that I am a daughter of God and that He loves me… Just as much as He loves you.

There’s one person on the earth who showed me the way through all the ups and downs. Who taught me the happiness that comes from a freshly baked cookie and that all the cuts and scrapes from falling down just meant I was growing up.

It was Mom.

I love you, Mom.

Questions? Comments? Leave them here!