Yup. He’s my dad.

Image

So. He might be a little bit weird.

But I love him for it.

Image

That’s what a father’s duty is, and that’s what my dad has done for me. Even if we didn’t exactly see eye-to-eye while I was growing up, I know that he’s only ever had the best in mind for me. And now that I’ve been away from home for a while, I understand a lot more what he did for me and what he has helped me to become.

He taught me the value of hard work.

He taught me where in the world I got my crazy sense of humor. (It makes reading weekly letters from Dad a lot more amusing sometimes.)

He taught me that the end of the day isn’t the end of the world.

He taught me humility.

He taught me how to truly love someone.

He taught me that it’s ok to be a little weird. (Or a lot a bit weird.)

He taught me that it’s better to be me than anyone else.

He taught me that music is worth the time it takes to learn how to play it properly.

He taught me it’s ok to stand out from the rest of the crowd.

He taught me the value of books and reading and learning.

He taught me how to laugh.

He taught me how to cook.

He taught me to have high expectations for myself – and then to work hard to reach them.

He taught me that it hurts when you work your hardest to get the thing you want the most and fall short.

He taught me how to get back up and try again because if you’re passionate about it, go for it!

He taught me what to look for in a husband.

He taught me to never, never, never, never settle for anything less than the best. Especially in a husband.

He taught me the value of the gospel and having a gospel centered home.

He taught me to work towards a temple marriage and to never settle for anything less.

He helped teach me how to love myself and to try my hardest and to do my best.

He taught me that it’s good to stand strong and stand alone if no one is there to stand alongside me.

So. To sum it all up. Everything I know I learned from my dad. Especially when it comes to being myself and loving the gospel.

Thank you, Dad, for helping me become the person that I am.

Image

Even if it is a little bit weird.

Happy Father’s Day (:

Questions? Comments? Leave them here!

