Everything I Need to Know… (part 3)

Be yourself!

So this one isn’t exactly a direct quote from Mom and Dad, but it’s a combination of many things that all add together into one. In my own words, I’ve always been sort of an odd duck. The whole belonging thing is one I couldn’t really wrap my head around. I mean, I understood why belonging is important, but how the popularity thing worked has always been a bit beyond me. That made life in school a little bit difficult for me.

College wasn’t any different. I tried making friends and being who I thought I needed to be to make friends. I wasn’t happy but I didn’t know that, hey, it might actually be ok to be myself. Until I finally decided that I was tired of trying to be someone I really wasn’t and just stopped. I decided to do what I wanted to do and liked to do, even if it was a bit different from what everyone else was doing, and hope I found someone to join me along the way.

Fortunately, I did. I found my best friend. And though my parents don’t always agree with my choices in what movies I watch, I’ve explained my thinking and the way I see it, and they’ve accepted it and accept me for the way I am. I can feel their love for me and their desire that I reach the dreams that are so important to me.

So what have I learned?

mormonad-beauty-within-1118342-mobile

You have value being exactly who you are. Do you like music? Movies? Books? Math? Science? Perfect! Then love it. Own it. Don’t be afraid to show it! You’re not on this earth to be someone else. You’re here to be you. I’m here to be myself. You’re here to be yourself. And that’s what makes love beautiful and interesting!

Above all… Always remember this:

“Heavenly Father loves you – each of you. That love never changes.” -President Thomas S. Monson

You have individual worth that is higher than you can imagine, and so does everyone around you. Never forget that. You are a valuable son or daughter of our Heavenly Father who loves you.

If we need to be like a little child to inherit the kingdom of heaven, what can we learn from this little girl about the importance of each individual?

Questions? Comments? Leave them here!

