Everything I Need to Know… (part 4)

“It’s part of growing up.”

I’ve got three words for you:

Life. Is. Hard.

If you’re anywhere from 8 to 888 years old, you’re probably well aware of this fact. And if you’re not yet, you will be soon.

I have definitely had my fair shair (or more than fair share? in my opinion, anyway) of difficulties in my life. Some of them have come because of my own silly choices, and some have come because of circumstances, and some have come because of the agency of other people. (Isn’t that just the hardest thing to deal with?) But that’s sort of just the way that life is.

Why?

I know I’ve asked that several times and you probably have, too. But did you know that there’s an answer?

That’s right. In this crazy confusing world, there is an answer. And it’s this:

Life is supposed to be hard. Why? Because we are here to learn and progress to reach the fullest potential we can.

“And we see that death comes upon mankind, … which is the temporal death; nevertheless there was a space granted unto man in which he might repent; therefore this life became a probationary state; a time to prepare to meet God; a time to prepare for that endless state which has been spoken of by us, which is after the resurrection of the dead.” (Alma 12:24)

I don’t know about you, but I’d like to be as ready as I can, not only to meet God, but to also become who I’m meant to become. This life is a time given us to learn many hard and difficult lessons. Why? Because they’re making us better. We definitely will always have things we wish we hadn’t done. But when you look back on all that’s happened to you, do you regret who you’ve become? Have you become a better person?

Hopefully the answer is yes; but if the answer is actually no, then don’t worry. There is still hope. (:

We all make mistakes when we’re not looking towards the eternities. We are all eternal beings and the decisions we make now really do effect us in the long run, even if we can’t see it now. That’s why the laws of God never change. He knows better than we do and there’s always a pretty good reason behind the guidance and direction we recieve.

quote-uchtdorf-1174064-tablet

There is happiness to be found. Growing up hurts and life is hard, but at the end of the day it’s all going to be worth it if we trust in what we’ve been taught, trust in God, and know that there is a higher plan than what we can see down here.

I know that I’ve done some pretty ridiculous things in my life. I know that mabe it would have been easier if I hadn’t done some of them. But would I take any of it back? I don’t think so. And you know why? Because they’ve all made me a part of who I am today. Heavenly Father knows who He wants me to become. I fought against that for a long time. But now? Now I know better. Now I can look forward and say “It’s going to be a rough road ahead, but I can’t wait!” And I really can’t!

So life is hard. And it always will be. But never give in and never give up and I can promise you from the bottom of my heart that everything is going to be ok.

quote-holland-1173095-tablet

And believe in good things to come.

Questions? Comments? Leave them here!

