Everything I Need to Know… (part 6)

I get it from my dad.

Until I’d been a missionary for some time, I never quite realized just how much I have in common with my dad. My ridiculous sense of humor? Yeah. I get it from my dad… And I love it.

But you know, we all get it from Dad.

Chicago silly

And no, my oldest brother isn’t excluded from this either.

Brother graduation silly

We’re all a little bit goofy, but what’s not to love about life and being silly? Where’s the fun in not taking after your parents? I’ve been known for saying “Dad, you’re weird” more often than not, but more and more I’ve realized just how much of his weirdness I’ve inherited, and my brothers, too. However, we’ve all inherited more than just our parents’ oddities.

We are all children of our loving Heavenly Father who loves us more than we could possibly imagine. It’s not just a figurative Fatherhood, either. God is literally the Father of our spirits. And just like our earthly father, we have inherited divine qualities from our Heavenly Father. Think about it, we have the ability to progress and become better every single day. Within each of us, we have the desire and the ability to become like Him, to choose the better part in this world and become more than we ever thought we could be.

I learned something recently. But first, a little background about me. I’m a pretty visual person. I love reading and writing and movies. (I love everything about movies, don’t get me started on that one…) Now, out there in the “real world” my desire to join the film industry and make the movies that I want to make to put my voice out there… Well. It’s a bit odd. And maybe a bit unrealistic, too. Who does that? Who thinks they can make it and wants to try? Why not just stick with business or something more marketable?

Because I have the burning desire to create something that wasn’t there before. I see beauty in the mundane and I want to share the way I see the world with others. What do you have the desire to create? A new business? A better marketing plan? Advertisements? Books or new literature? Do you want to create sense with numbers and mathematics or explore the unknown parts of science or space?

Did you know that your desire to create is something that you inherited from your Heavenly Father?

Wedding silly

We’re all a little bit weird. But you know what? One day, we can all grow up to be just like our Father in Heaven.

What does that mean to you? Leave a comment below! I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Questions? Comments? Leave them here!

